The Adams House, Adams Museum, Days of '76 Museum, and Homestake Adams Research and Cultural Center (HARCC) are open. Deadwood History is following regulations provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the federal government, as well as South Dakota Governor Noem’s office. Please call 605-722-4800 if you have questions.
The Days of '76 celebration began in 1924 as a way to honor Deadwood’s first pioneers - the prospectors, miners, muleskinners, and madams who poured into the Black Hills in 1876 to settle the gold-filled gulches of Dakota Territory. Since then, the Days of '76 has grown into a legendary annual event with a historic parade and an award-winning PRCA rodeo.
The Homestake Adams Research and Cultural Center (HARCC) houses, preserves, and provides public access to one of the nation’s largest collection of Black Hills archival materials. Dating from the 1870s to the present, these materials provide the visitor with a better understanding and appreciation of the people, places, and events that shaped the unique history of the Black Hills. The extensive collection includes historic photographs, maps, legal correspondence and documents, personal diaries and journals, gold exploration and production reports, business ledgers and records, and many other interesting historic materials. The HARCC also hosts a variety of diverse educational, entertaining, and engaging events for people of all ages.
Deadwood History, Inc. (DHI) will launch its new project – The Brothel Deadwood opening on August 1, 2020, with guided tours of the Shasta Rooms located at 610 Main Street on the second floor. The tours will focus on the interpretation of the century-long history of the brothels in Deadwood. The Brothel will be open to the public from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., daily through September 30, 2020. Admission is $15 per person. You must be at least 16 years old to participate. Tour hours will be modified in the fall and winter but will be available year-round. For more information please call 605-722-4800 or purchase tickets online at DeadwoodBrothel.com beginning August 1, 2020.
Brothels were a fixture on the second story of several Deadwood Main Street buildings from 1876-1980. This aspect of Deadwood’s history, although difficult and uncomfortable to talk about, had a huge impact on the community. A series of eight rooms have been curated with period-appropriate furnishings to help transport the visitor to another era.
The Brothel is not an attempt to glamorize prostitution, nor is it meant to be an approval or condemnation of prostitution. Rather it is an integral part of the narrative of Deadwood’s unique history. What visitors take away from the tour, and any opinions or points of view they might form from the history of prostitution in Deadwood, are of their own volition.
The Brothel is a joint project between property owners Wayne Morris, Rick Stone, Steve Stone, and Deadwood History. Considerable financial support for the project, in the form of loans, was provided by the Deadwood Historic Preservation Commission and NeighborWorks. Many furnishings were provided by generous donations from our supporters.